iso 45001

ISO 45001: The New International Standard for Occupational Health and Safety Management

Lenmac Services are delighted to announce we have migrated over ISO 45001 the new international standard for occupational health and safety management

OHSAS 18001 standard (a quasi-international standard) to the new ISO 45001 Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems Standard. ISO 45001 will replace the OHSAS standard and puts Occupational Health and Safety at the same level of international recognition as the Quality and Environmental standards.  

While ISO 45001 draws heavily on OHSAS 18001 – which was first introduced in 1999 – it is its own distinct standard, with a new structure and new requirements. The changes mean more focus on the context in which the organisation operates, as well as the participation of leaders and workers, and risk-based thinking.

The ISO 45001 standard was launched on 12 March 2018, and Lenmac Services was certified to the new standard on 27 September.

Certification to ISO 45001 was achieved after an intensive external audit and assessment, carried out by NSAI, which began almost immediately after the new standard was published.

Lenmac Services rapid transition from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001 is a reflection of the company’s proactive approach for ensuring its health and safety system meets the latest industry leading standards.

The changes associated with the migration to the new ISO standard affected almost every document maintained under Lenmac Services integrated management system, from its safety, health, environment and quality (QEHS) manual to the procedures maintained.

Safe T Certification Ireland Lenmac Services

Lenmac Services Have Been Awarded The Safe-T-Cert

The Safe-T-Cert is a certification scheme that certifies the safety management systems of companies working in the construction industry. At Lenmac Services our goal is to always ensure the highest levels of safety & standards for our team.  The Safe-T-Cert schemes goals are to improve health and safety management by providing objective standards and certifying contractors whose safety systems adhere to said standards.

In order to be awarded the Safe-T-Cert a company must demonstrate that:

  • They are inline with ILO (International Lablour Office) guidelines for safety management systems.
  • Meet the requirements for training and competence.
  • Implement a health and safety management system which meets the requirements of the organisation (this includes continual improvement).
  • Adhere to and address all relevant national legislation.
  • Demonstrate commitment at all levels of the organisation.

To find out more about the Safe-T-Cert scheme please visit


The OHSAS 18001 standard is becoming the ISO 45001

OHSAS 18001, Occupational Health and Safety Assessment Series is an internationally applied standard for occupational health and safety management systems. It exists to help organizations put in place demonstrably sound occupational health and safety performance. This standard is now being updated and replaced by the ISO (International Standards Organisation) 45001 which looks to apply the high level structure of the ISO to the OHSAS.

The ISO 45001 was released in Q1 2018, this integration and standardisation makes it easier for businesses and employees by providing compatibility between key ISO standards such as the ISO 9001 & 14001.

At Lenmac Services we are committed to the the highest standards of safety and endeavor to meet the latest and most stringent  safety and quality standards and regulations.

We are migrating over to ISO 45001:2018 certification. Lenmac Services will be among the first companies to complete this certification migration in 2018.   This certification will enable us to continue to deliver the highest levels of service possible to our customers. If you have any queries relating to Lenmac and the ISO 45001:2018 please feel free to contact us to discuss how this will impact you as a customer.


Key Changes From OHSAS 18001 To ISO 45001

  • Chapter 4.1 Introduces new clauses for identifying internal & external issues that can have a positive or negative impact on a companies health and safety performance including cultural, social, political, legal, financial, technological, economic, market competition and natural factors. The company will be required to identify all relevant internal and external issues including conditions, characteristics or changing circumstances that can affect its occupational health and safety management system and then address those that require further attention.
  • Chapter 4.2 introduces enhanced focus on needs and expectations for workers and other interested parties and worker involvement.
  • Risk and opportunity management: Described in chapters 6.1.1,, 6.1.4, companies are to determine, consider and, where necessary, take action to address any risks or opportunities that may impact (either positively or negatively) the ability of the management system to deliver its intended results, including enhanced health and safety at the workplace.
  • ISO 45001 has stronger emphasis on top management to actively engage and take accountability for the effectiveness of the management system.
  • Objectives and Performance: Strengthened focus on objectives as drivers for improvements